How to know if your Facebook data was improperly shared with Cambridge Analytica

Facebook. Oh Facebook. No company on Earth would like to be in the dilemma that Facebook is in now. And certainly regardless of all the millions, not many people would fancy to be in Mark Zuckerberg shoes right now. 
Facebook and Cambridge Analtyca are tied up in a dirty, dirty web
Facebook and Cambridge Analtyca. Creepy . 
So if you want to cross check and make sure that your profile was not among the millions that were compromised and sold to Cambridge Analtyca, then read on. Facebook has introduced some changes that came with the new news feed that will show people what apps they use and what information is shared with those apps.

Furthermore, Users are intended to be able to remove apps that they no longer want in an easier fashion, and as part of this process Facebook will be informing people if their data was shared with Cambridge Analytical. Affected users will automatically be presented with a notice that says: "We have banned the website 'This Is Your Digital Life,' which one of your friends used Facebook to log into. We did this because the website may have misused some of your Facebook information by sharing it with a company called Cambridge Analytica."

And if you are among those not affected by the Cambridge Analytica incident will simply read: "You can go to the Apps and Websites section of your settings anytime to see the apps and websites you've used Facebook to log into." Meanwhile, the company has warned that it is "reasonable to expect" that potentially every Facebook user has had their phone number and email address scraped from the site.

So yeah. Facebook wants to win your Trust back. The question is can it? 

Disclaimer: Comments and opinions expressed are solely the rights of the user and not a representation for TechSledge. Report
Disqus Comments
© Copyright 2017 TechSledge | All Things Technology - Unending Innovations. - All Rights Reserved